Music: Onward to Freedom

This is a category that will pop up from time to time. Sometimes I will be talking a song I like, dislike, or absolutely hate. And if there are visual elements, well, i think you get the picture

Tourniquet is one of the Christian metal bands of old. One of the few to start in the late 80’s/early 90’s and actually be good. Today they still have a good following and will soon be releasing a new album Onward to Freedom.

This song is awkward. Everything about it is awkward. Tourniquet always was a bit weird, but in a good way. But this song just doesn’t seem to mesh well for me. It’s all over the place and very inconsistent.

I think the biggest things are the vocals and the lyrics. Let’s start with the vocals. There are two different vocalist on this song. You have Michael Sweet, who is from the 80s christian hair metal band (sadly i am not making his up) Stryper. Then you have death growls/screams done by the vocalist from For Today or whatever (I never listened to them). Its just doesn’t mesh well. It uncomfortable.

Then there are the lyrics. Ok, I get it. You are a Christian band. It is great that you love Jesus, but this is metal. It’s almost to cheesy, and that is saying something because a lot of the earlier Christian metal bands had them. Tourniquet usually did a good job on mixing this sort of thing in there without being cheesy.

The band Theocracy takes stuff straight out of scriptures with there lyrics and pulls it off unbelievably well. I like these guys. Bold and for the most part they do a good job without being cheesy.

Then there is Becoming the Archetype. Oh. My. Goodness. They ruined How Great Thou Art for me. In a good way. All other versions of the song feel weak.

But you get the idea. There is no excuse. With so many good christian bands in world of metal now, there is not excuse for something that feels like it is almost stuck in the past. Tourniquet used to be a big deal.  I loved some of there other stuff. They were bold and creative.

Though this Tourniquet isn’t really Tourniquet. Its the drummer, Ted Kirkpatrick, carrying the legacy. He wrote all the music and lyrics and just had guest artists preform. It would have been better if it was a collaboration, like some of those super groups that have emerged (made up of members of different bands). That is what I, and i think many others as well, would like to see.

This of course is just my opinion and i have a feeling most of you have no idea what I am talking about. It’s ok. I like my metal. It might not be popular but it is what speaks to me (i highly recommend Demon Hunter, another great one).

Leave a Reply

