The 365 Photo Project Challenge – Day 6: With a few Thoughts

Drinking tea in my rather messy room. I used my GoPro HD Hero 2 for this, as it is the only fisheye lens i currently have. After all, I am a videographer as well.

I have a few extra thoughts attached to this posting. If you haven’t already, I decided to have a bit of fun and start a Facebook Page for The Kilted Artist.

——–

I had trouble going to sleep last night. I almost felt embarrassed for starting a facebook page for this. I think i felt the same way when i started the group for “Stephan’s Traveling Camera”, which in a way is replaced by this. It almost feels narcissistic. Lets face it, its facebook, so it kind of is.

I kept asking myself “why am I doing this?” What is there to gain by doing that? I don’t think it is about gaining anything other than a voice. My page won’t get a lot of “likes” of any sort. But I don’t think that is the point. I think I just want to have a voice. That is not something i can have as just myself. No one pays much attention unless i post a picture…of someone else. Even then most of the time it has nothing to do with me. I know what I am, and that is just a faceless person in the crowd. It’s taken years to come to grips with that and be comfortable with it, but I wouldn’t have been able to move through out crowds in European cities other wise (the Philippines on the other hand is a different story). We are taught by society that we are meant to be someone. That we are supposed to be Number 1, that we are first, that we are greater. It has taken a lot of time for me to realize that this view is wrong.

I’ve stated before that I am a Christian, a devout one actually (or i try for i am imperfect). But the Holy Bible states rather clearly that the first shall be last and the last shall be first. I’ve always been last and I don’t deserve to be first. I’ve always been a no one and I have learned to be ok with that. Yet I realize that I potentially have something to offer. I’ve been through a bit. Some of those are common and challenging such as depression. Other things are a bit more unique, like living in another country and flying around the world.

In a way, this whole brand of The Kilted Artist is humbling me even more. I have total strangers paying attention to my blog. To those who do: Thank you so much. I know it is not a lot, but those who like or follow or comment it means a lot to me. It shows me that I may have something to offer after all. I pray that i can deliver. As i continue to develop as and artist and an individual, hopefully I will have something even better to offer. To others who read this as well, I thank you for taking the time to do so.

Leave a Reply

