Return to the Frozen North

Now that the feels fest from my last blog post is over, its back to business as usual.

What business is that? Your guess is as good as mine at this point

After 18 months, I find myself back in Indiana.

I never thought I would be moving back to my home state. At least not so soon. I worked so hard to escape the cornfields. I learned the hard way that you can never escape the corn fields (and soy fields, crop rotation and all). Even in the dead of winter, they will always beckon you back to them.

Currently I am back at my parents place. Free-ish room and bored. I say “ish” because I am back to living under my parents rules. Not the easiest thing to do after living on my own for some time. But there is Louie, who can be as much of a pain in the butt as he is adorable.

This is my situation, no point on dwelling on the past. I failed to do what I set out to do. I am hoping to have some sort of fresh start, with the hopes that more goes right than wrong for me this next year.

So what’s next? Ultimate goal is to go back to school. My original plan was to live at home, get something part time, and go to a school like IUPUI to get a new bachelor’s degree in Computer Science. That changed quickly. I am being exiled to the empty house of my great aunt in North Manchester, Indiana. It is small town almost in the middle of nowhere. Exiled out of Indianapolis…again. On the plus side, I sort of know this part of the state, and Manchester University is not even a mile from where I will be living.

I have only been back for a week. At this point it is just a lot of back and forth between Fishers and North Manchester. For one, I don’t have a job to pay for utilities. Second, it is taking a bit of work to get the house cleaned up. It isn’t messy per say, just cluttered. A lot of things that can be thrown out. The house also needs a bit of an update. Wood paneled walls may have been in style in the 60’s and 70’s, but they are overwhelmingly tacky today. I have my work cut out for me.

Look for work, clean up the house, and get ready to go back to school are the main tasks ahead of me. I am hopefully going back to school for Software Engineering, or computer programing as it is more commonly referred. I am trying to get a head start on the math requirements (because I suck at math) and some of the programing. I can’t help but feel a little overwhelmed when looking at some of the programing languages. There are days where I just don’t believe I can do it. But I must. As a result, I have to actually have a schedule so I can try to make progress on this stuff. It takes a little bit at a time.

I will be honest when I felt a little destroyed when all of the preceding events took place. I am not entirely certain that friendship can be truly restored. There isn’t much I can do at the moment. I have a very difficult road ahead of me. Though it seems like I am pushing ahead strong, truth be told I am more than a little discouraged. To much of what I attempted in the past year has only resulted in failure.

So pray for me. I need things to turn around. I will try to keep this blog updated.

The Kilted Artist will continue on.

 

Leave a Reply

