Sink or Swim

It seems that whenever I am about to go somewhere, or return home from another place, I somehow find myself behind a camera at the IUPUI Natatorium. It is always a college swimming & diving championship. I have done this 3 or 4 times. Long days on a boring event. The NCAA DII Swimming and Diving Championship is no different. Pulling 12+ hour days for 4 days in a row.

To be fair, it isn’t like I am doing much. The events start at 10:30 am. It usually runs until 2 or 3 in the afternoon. There are 2 cameras and 3 operators. We switch off during lunch and soon after that we lock the tripods in place and are off till 5:45pm. We were on camera before our stream to NCAA.com started, and we only were off camera when we know the stream had halted

As you can imagine, boring work. But you would be surprised how sore you get just standing there. Its simple work, but it is exhausting. 12 hour days will do that to you. The only thing keeping me going were my Go Pro time lapses.

If you haven’t seen my previous post, The Drive Home, go check it out. I have started a little time lapse project as a result. As some of you know, I have felt rather discouraged towards doing anything with a camera (or in some cases, anything creative in general) due to events from January. I started doing a bit of photography the week before this freelance gig. I time lapsed my drive down just trying to get some stills of the Indiana countryside. And now, as a result of that, I am working on a time lapse video. The featured image is from that.

The only personal cameras at my disposal were the Go Pro and my cell phone. Even then I didn’t think of bringing my Go Pro until the second day. Speaking of which, here are some photos (most of which can be found on instagram @thekiltedartist):

Leave a Reply

